Previous winners of the Nobel Peace Prize include the European Union for “the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe,” former U.S. President Barack Obama, “for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy,” and Nelson Mandela and Frederik Willem de Klerk “for their work for the peaceful termination of the apartheid regime, and for laying the foundations for a new democratic South Africa.”

The Nobel prizes originated in 1895 when inventor, entrepreneur and businessman Alfred Nobel lay out the foundation for the awards in his will. The first Nobel prizes were given out in 1901. They recognize achievements in physics, chemistry, medicine, literature, and for work in peace.

By Admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *